Nightmare Inspector: Yumekui Kenbun

The Record of Devoured Dreams

Nightmare Inspector: Yumekui Kenbun. Story and art by Shin Mashiba. 9 Volumes. Completed.


Nightmare Inspector: Yumekui Kenbun is a nine volume supernatural series that is dark and strange. It has a very Twilight Zone vibe. Nothing is as it seems.

The format and storytelling are like The Antique Gift Shop or Pet Shop of Horrors. They are similar in characters and plot. Each of these series have main characters who run shops that help people solve problems through supernatural means.

In Nightmare Inspector there is a baku, or dream eater, who helps his customers get rid of their nightmares. The baku may help end a client’s nightmare, but the resolution often has horrific repercussions. The stories play more on your psyche than on shock and gore. And that is what makes this series compelling.


The stories are episodic in nature and full of despair and mystery with surprising (and sometimes not so surprising) twists and turns. While they are often intriguing, they are not overly complex and are usually resolved over 1 or 2 chapters. And, of course, there is an underlying mysterious plot that keeps everything moving forward. Who or what is the dream eater?

The stories are varied, and the artwork is haunting. It is perfect October reading.

Follow me on instagram and myanimelist.

Thanks for reading!

Featured Image Credit: Photo by Xtremis. on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s